Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes via Zoom May 7, 2020 2:30-4:15pm

Attendees	Absent	Guest
Adria Gerard	James Lawrence	David Martin
Vanessa Lord	John Cristobal	Jon Knolle
Alan Durst	Heather Bowers	Steve Haigler
Dawn Rae Davis	Reem Benny	Bob Pacheco
Mark Clements		Diane Boynton
Frank Rivera		Kendra Cabrera
Lynn Kragelund		Rosaleen Ryan
Glenn Tozier		Jeannie Kim
Bruce Barrie		Anita Crawley
Heather Craig		Emily Mitchell
Elizabeth Gonzalez		Christina Nicolaides
Jacque Evans		Steve Bruemmer
Molly Jansen		Jared Turner
Sunny Lemoine		JoRene Finnell
Merina Smith		

I. Opening Business

- A. Public Comments None
- B. Welcome and Introductions
- C. Approval of Minutes May 7, 2020
- D. Reports
 - 1. Superintendent/President (David Martin)
 - Academic Senate President (Adria Gerard) Because of COVID-19, Fall Flex activities will not permit large gatherings. There are preliminary discussions to move it online. Please provide feedback and suggestions to the Flex Committee.

Senate does not object to moving forward with having Fall Flex online. Would like to suggest having a speakers who can address stress and mental health in the era of COVID-19 and advanced training for Canvas.

GP/AS Student and Academic Support Work Team Recommendations are being revised due to discussions at the most recent AAAG meeting. Revisions have not been brought to the GP Leadership Team yet.

3. ACTION: Committee on Committees (Molly Jansen, COC Chair)

Grievance Committee: Bruce Barrie, Dawn Rae Davis, John Nelson – Motion (Bruce) / Second (Molly) / Approved

Hiring Committee for Dean of Instruction - Online Education, Dual Enrollment, Continuing Education, and Adult Education: Christina Nicolaides, Elisabeth Thomas, Lindsay Peelman – **Motion (Dawn Rae) / Second (Molly) /** Approved contingent upon diversity requirement being met with the remainder of the members of this hiring committee.

Search Committee for President/Superintendent: Kelly Fletes, Marcus Carroll, Lauren Blanchard, Jeannie Kim, Leandro Castillo, Todd Ritsema.

Motion (Molly) / Second (Heather C.) / Approved to submit 6 instead of 5 faculty members to the Board.

Motion (Molly) /Second (Jacque) / Approved to move these 6 listed above to the Board.

II. Unfinished Business

A. ACTION/2ND READ: Online Education Committee (OEC) Recommendations for Addressing Changes to Title 5 (Dr. Kendra Cabrera, Dean of Instruction; Dr. Christina Nicolaides, Co-Chair Online Education Committee) Goal 4 – Return May 21, 2020 for additional discussion.

 B. ACTION/2ND READ: Draft Facilities and Technology Master Plan (David Martin, Superintendent/President; Steve Haigler, VP Administrative Services) Goal 4– Return May 21, 2020 for additional discussion.

III. New Business

A. DISCUSSION: Student Achievement Metrics, Institutional Set Standards and Stretch Goals (Dr. Bob Pacheco, Dean of Planning Research and Institutional Effectiveness; Dr. Rosaleen Ryan, Director of Institutional Research) Goal 3 – Tabled to May 21, 2020

Adjournment of meeting at 4:16pm.